The Festival Announces the Jury of the Int’l Animated Movies

The Festival Announces the Jury of the Int’l Animated Movies
A- A+
Donia AL watan 

Mansour Jahani – The president of the 30th International Film Festival for "Children and Youth announced" the jury of the int’l animated movies’ competition.

According to the information center of the 30th International Film Festival for Children and Youth, Alireza Rezadad, the president of the festival, appoints Ferenc Varsanyi, Natalia Chernyshenva, Alexandra Sun, Gerhard Klein and Saeed Tavakolian as the jury of the int’l animated movies’ competition.

Ferenc Varsanyi

Born and raised in his native land of Hungary, Varsanyi has been writing and directing hundreds of live action, animated, and mixed genre (live action mixed with animation) films since the mid 1970s. His productions have won him notoriety as a filmmaker both in Hungary and abroad. Including the mentioned Daytime Emmy Award for "The Rugrats", Golden Rose Award in Montreux for "Variations" (TV series), the First Price and The Special Prize of the Jury on two International Festivals of Film Comedies for his short and long feature animated films, several First and Grand Prizes on different local festivals, three times Presidential Award of the MTV for his TV series, and Youth Award of the Hungarian Cultural Ministry for his own feature film: "Schooltime Blues". Throughout his career, Varsanyi has worked with such notable studios as Pannonia Film Studio (Eastern Europe's leading producer of Animation throughout the 1970s and '80s), and as the world famous Varga Studio, and Klasky-Csupo Inc., in Hollywood California.

Natalia Chernyshenva

Born in 1984 in Sverdlovsk, Russia. Graduated from Ural State Academy of Architecture and Art, majoring in graphics and animation. Worked as animator, character designer and artist on several animated films. "Snowflake" is her debut as a director. Studied in La Podriere (France) 2012-2014, where she directed the films "The Return" (2013) and her graduation film "Friends" (2014).

Alexandra Sun

Born in Hong-Kong, Alexandra Sun studied philosophy in Australia. Alexandra founded the film library in early 90s, which has helped distributing chineese award-winning films all around the world. She has also produced some movies in Korea and France.

Alexandra Sun has been among jury members of numerous festivals namely Moscow, Telluride, King Ban and Silk Road.

 Gerhard Klein

Born in 1954, Gerhard Klein is the manager of Median Contour, “Film Varley” and “Teamwork” distributing companies, as well as the president of the 24th int’l Schweppes children film festival.

Saeed Tavakolian

Tavakilian has a MA in animation. He is the head of animation department of Iran’s broadcasting university and professor at Tehran and Honar Universities. He is the author and translator of numerous books on theatre and cinema namely “The Awakening of Dreams” and “100 Years of Animated Films”. He’s been the head of Iran’a broadcasting university publication, the chairman of Iran’s ASIFA bard, as well as a member of the animation association of the Documentary & Experimental Film Center, the int’l association of animation study etc.

The 30th int’l film festival for children and youth will be held from June 30 to July 6 in Isfahan.